Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• engine removal 1800 YKC roadster

G,Day All
    I am about to remove the 1800 cc motor in my YKC Roadster , the reason being the synchromesh things are not doing what they should ,it wont shift down into 2nd or 3rd .In talking about this on this site it was suggested that instead of pulling the motor that I should undo the mounts remove the rad and lower the motor down and then lift car up and pull motor and transmission forward .So as winter is setting in I took a look at the car today and have some questions.I am not a mechanic but have converted my moggie to disc brakes and installed bits and pieces like exhaust system ,rads etc but this is big step for me.

How heavy is the car with out the motor?
    I am turning 70 but know a couple of younger guys I could call in to lift the car or should I rent a motor crane?

I assume the rad shell must come off ?

Today while looking at photos of dash boards I noticed that the roadsters had much more space between the end of the shift job and the dash ,is this because my gearbox was modified when being built by adding an O/D unit , on my YKC roadster my fingers just fit between knob and dash in 1st and 3rd.

Tonight while looking the motor over to see what is involved in disconnecting it I noticed that the clutch slave cylinder is some what loose in its bracket ,is this normal?

Anyone who has been thought this job who can add any helpful information please feel free to tell me of anything you think I should know.

Thank you
    Attached Files

Re: engine removal 1800 YKC roadster

Hi,